AUTHENTICALLY BREWED BEER

Science Of Sour Ale Brewing stands for beers brewed authentically in the South of West Flanders according to Belgian tradition. The beers age authentically but are intriguing, fascinating and bitter. They are Sour Ales with a twist.

XX GRAND CRU

Aged for 20 months in Oak wooden barrels


XII FLEMISH RED ALE

Aged for 12 months in Oak wooden barrels

AN AUTHENTIC AGEING PROCESS

Our barrel master is completely familiar with the ageing process and controls the microbiological process taking place in all the oak ’foeders’ (large barrels three times the average barrel size). He puts his curiosity on hold for two years and practices the art of patience in order to preserve the authenticity of the ageing process. The wood provides the ideal habitat for the various micro-organisms that enrich the beer with acids, higher alcohols and fruity esters. The staves ensure a light, intriguing oxidation of the beer. It is the combination of authenticity and science with a twist. This twist becomes a reality in our barrels and manifests itself in the taste. In short, we put our money where our mouth is.

THE BREWERY

Our team has more than 15 years of experience and our brewery in the South of West Flanders is located at the birthplace of the Flanders Red Ale. The beers are aged authentically in our barrel room that holds 10 ’foeders’. We don’t care about hype and trends; we go with our gut feeling. The barrel room is the ideal place to discovery patience, intrigue, curiosity and authenticity. The process is slow, organic and unpredictable. It is science with a twist.

OUR BEERS

XX GRAND CRU

XX Grand Cru contains 6% alcohol and is a slow-aged beer that lingers for XX (20) months in oak barrels. The result is perfection in your glass; our master brewer selects the best barrels and creates his masterly blend of 100% ‘Foederbier’. Enjoy the feeling as the beer caresses your palate and discover hitherto unknown sensations.

This deep golden beer has explosive scents and aromas of ripe red apple, small red berries, blackcurrants, dried plums and pleasant notes of balsamic vinegar. It was aged for 20 months in wooden barrels to give it the typical notes of vanilla, cognac, nuts and caramel biscuits. There is also a slight hint of Marsala. The taste is particularly refreshing thanks to the presence of mild acids that guarantee a refreshing effect on the palate. The sweet quality of the beer tempers the malty acidity and creates a harmonious whole.

XII FLEMISH RED ALE

Fall under the charm of the mild sweet-sour character of this blend of young and old ‘Foederbier’ and young brown ale, with an alcohol content of 5.2%. Go back in time, and pause to reflect on what happened 12 months ago... For that is when this beer came into being.

This brown ale has a pleasant aroma of green apple, redcurrant, caramel, apple cider vinegar and currant bread. It is aged for 12 months in wooden barrels, which gives it its characteristic aromas. It has a lovely, rounded flavour with alternating dashes of sweet and sour. 

FOODPAIRING

XX GRAND CRU

  • Spareribs with Hoisin sauce
  • Fourme d’Ambert cheese with dates
  • Hare stew with cranberry and port sauce
  • Speculoos fantasy dessert with red fruit and mascarpone

XII FLEMISH RED ALE

  • Quiche with shrimps
  • Tiramisu
  • Semi-hard cheeses like Cheddar, or Echte Loo
  • Classic meat stew

CONTACT US

Kortrijksestraat 103 A
8501 Heule, Belgium

info@sosab.be
+32 (0) 56 13 04 04

 
 
 
 

By submitting this form I agree with the privacy policy

UNE BIERE BRASSEE DE TRADITION

Science Of Sour Ale Brewing est synonyme de qualité : nos bières sont brassées de façon authentique dans le sud de la Flandre occidentale selon la tradition belge. Les bières mûrissent selon les procédés traditionnels, mais leur goût n’en est pas moins complexe, surprenant et amer. Nous proposons des Sour Ales with a twist.

XX GRAND CRU

Fermentation de 20 mois en fûts de chêne


XII FLEMISH RED ALE

Fermentation de 12 mois en fûts de chêne

UN PROCESSUS DE FERMENTATION AUTHENTIQUE

Notre maître-brasseur supervise le processus de fermentation de A à Z et contrôle le processus microbiologique dans tous les fûts de chêne. Pendant deux ans, il dompte sa curiosité et fait preuve d’une extrême patience pour garantir un processus de fermentation authentique. Le bois offre un habitat idéal à plusieurs microorganismes qui ajoutent une réelle plus-value à la bière : une bouche acidulée, une teneur en alcool élevée et des saveurs fruitées. Nos caves garantissent une légère oxydation fascinante de la bière. C’est là que réside le secret de l’authenticité et de la science combinées avec de l’inattendu. Cet inattendu, ce twist; nous l’intégrons dans nos fûts pour vous offrir un arôme unique en son genre. Croyez-nous, ce ne sont pas des paroles en l’air…

LA BRASSERIE

Fort de plus de 15 ans d’expérience, notre équipe réalise ses exploits dans le sud de la Flandre occidentale, à la source de la bière rouge flamande. Les bières mûrissent de façon authentique dans notre salle de brassage qui peut contenir jusqu’à dix fûts. Nous ne nous intéressons pas vraiment aux tendances et aux modes. Nous suivons notre instinct. La salle de brassage est l’endroit par excellence où règnent patience, fascination, curiosité et authenticité. Le processus est lent, organique et imprévisible. C’est la rencontre entre la science et l’inattendu.

NOS BIERES

XX GRAND CRU

La XX Grand Cru contient 6 % d’alcool et est une bière qui mûrit lentement : elle repose XX (20) mois dans nos fûts de chêne. Notre mot d’ordre ? La perfection. Notre maître-brasseur sélectionne les meilleurs fûts et produit son mélange magistral composé à 100 % de bières en fûts. Régalez votre palais et rendez-vous en terre inconnue.

Avec sa belle robe dorée, cette bière blonde intense se caractérise par des parfums explosifs et des arômes de pommes rouges mûres, de petits fruits rouges, de cassis, de prunes séchées et de touches agréables de balsamique. La bière a mûri 20 mois en fûts de chêne et délivre un caractère unique, ponctué de touches de vanille, de cognac, de noix et de caramel. Vous pourrez également y déceler un soupçon de marsala. Particulièrement rafraîchissant, son goût laisse une bouche acidulée qui rafraîchit d’autant plus le palais. Le petit goût sucré que propose la bière vient contrebalancer cette acidité pour un goût parfaitement équilibré.

XII FLEMISH RED ALE

Laissez-vous séduire par le subtil caractère sucré-salé de ce mélange de brassin jeune et vieux et de bière brune jeune. La bière a une teneur en alcool de 5,2 %. Voyagez dans le temps et arrêtez-vous un instant pour savourer les 12 mois écoulés, qui ont donné naissance à cette bière.

Cette bière brune se caractérise par son agréable parfum de pommes vertes, de groseilles, de caramel, de vinaigre de cidre et de cramique.  Cette bière a mûri durant 12 mois dans des fûts de chêne ; c’est là le secret de son parfum boisé si caractéristique. Sa rondeur comporte une saveur variée entre l’aigre et le doux, qui s’équilibre parfaitement. 

ACCORDS METS ET BIERES

XX GRAND CRU

  • Spare-ribs laqués à la sauce hoisin
  • Fourme D’ambert accompagnée de dattes
  • Civet de lièvre et sa sauce airelles-porto
  • Déclinaison de spéculoos, fruits rouges et mascarpone

XII FLEMISH RED ALE

  • Quiche aux crevettes
  • Tiramisu
  • Fromage à pâte mi-dure (style Père Joseph) Véritable Loo
  • Ragoût classique

NOUS CONTACTER

Kortrijksestraat 103 A
8501 Heule, Belgique

info@sosab.be
+32 (0) 56 13 04 04

 
 
 
 

En soumettant ce formulaire, j'accepte la politique de confidentialité.